similar to those of the regional municipalities, over the reorganized municipalities of the former district of Muskoka. This form of regional government in Ontario is also contemplated in other areas. Each county, although an incorporated municipality, comprises the towns (with the exception of six separated towns), villages and townships situated within it. Some municipalities are located outside the counties in areas called districts. These districts are in the western and northern parts of Ontario and are not municipal entities. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.

Manitoba. Manitoba has five cities, 33 towns, 39 villages and 106 rural municipalities. These are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs under the Municipal Act and special charters. However, the city of Winnipeg is responsible to the Department of Urban Affairs except for financial matters, for which it reports to the Department of Municipal Affairs. There are 19 local government districts incorporated under the Local Government Districts Act where the province has placed a resident administrator to carry out the functions of a municipal council. The unorganized areas are the direct responsibility of the provincial government.

Saskatchewan. All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 11 cities, 131 towns, 350 villages and 292 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern part of the province, the remainder of this portion being administered by the province through nine unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern part is sparsely populated and some municipal services are provided by the province through the operation of the Northern Administration District. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta. This province has an Act applying to each type of municipality and, under these Acts, the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the nine cities, 102 towns, 168 villages, 18 municipal districts and 30 counties. The counties administer schools in addition to municipal functions. There are 22 improvement districts administered directly by the Department of Municipal Affairs and three special areas under the Special Areas Board also responsible to the Department of Municipal Affairs.

British Columbia. In 1967, the government of British Columbia instituted regional government in the province and by January 1, 1972, 28 regional districts had been established. These regional districts are developing and are assuming responsibility for certain services from municipalities within their boundaries as well as providing services to previously unorganized areas. There are 32 cities, 11 towns, 59 villages and 37 districts. Districts are mostly rural although some adjacent to the principal cities of Vancouver and Victoria are largely urban in character. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs. In addition, there are unincorporated local districts supervised by the Department of Lands, Forests, and Water Resources that have been set up to provide certain municipal services such as protection, waterworks, irrigation, etc.

Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories. In the Yukon Territory, there are two cities, one town and five local improvement districts; the Northwest Territories includes one city, three towns, three hamlets and seven local improvement districts. The local improvement districts in the Yukon and the hamlets in the Northwest Territories, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Supervision of these municipalities is provided by the respective territorial governments.